Completion of kiva, rock wall garden, and interior plinths

The rock wall garden was my idea and a later addition to the original plan. The thought was to have a cool retreat during the blistering Texas summer. I envisioned water features and some nice potted plants that would not be a salad bar for the local deer herds. To the right of the kiva will be wrought iron fencing to preserve the view from the shaded porch. The trim carpenter will build a wooden door for the opening at the end. I think this space has a lot of potential for landscape design but I’m going to have to sit with it a while.

The only interior feature that will use the same stone as the outside are the gallery plinths. These were completed last week and I’m pleased with how they help frame the great room. The fireplace and great arch will also be stone but a more warm, field stone look.

 

 

