So it’s Wednesday and I left work a bit early to take John to the orthodontist. I get across town a bit faster than anticipated so I thought I would drop in to the car wash to have this Spring’s coating of pollen removed from the inside and outside of my truck. Not many folks around so I breeze in, get the $12.99 basic package, turn it over to the crew and go inside to pay.

The young woman behind the counter greets me with a smile, looks at my ticket and says, “That will be $7.99.”

Me: “No, I got the $12.99 package.”

Young woman behind the counter, with a smile: “Shhhhh…..don’t tell anyone.”

Me:  “????”

So I wander outside after the truck passes through the wash and as I’m watching the guys wipe water from the windshield and wheels I glance up at the large sign at the entrance that reads, “Mondays and Wednesdays $5 off for Senior Citizens”

Shit!

So, if you are one of those people who are always looking for a sign, let this be a lesson to you!

 

