lohen_vB_hallwy_lr[1]

Last Friday night the balcony seats to Lohengrin that I purchased online somehow morphed into 12th row center orchestra. I asked no questions but hastened straightway to the new digs for the evening, halfway expecting the seats to be occupied by some matronly season ticket holder who would assure me that there must be some mistake, dahling. But no! The seats were empty and I was golden!

And what a treat it was. Hard core opera heads might raise a fuss but I really liked the staging, which was a vaguely dark mid 20th century European setting. It conveyed the mood that times were tough, strongmen were in control, justice was not on the menu and people yearned for a savior to make things right. The villainess was supremely evil and the hero superb. Hat tip to HGO orchestra for a most excellent musical performance as well.

